

THE SOUTHWEST SECTION

of the

AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF PETROLEUM GEOLOGISTS P.O. Box 1595



Midland, Texas 79702



2017-2018 OFFICERS

PRESIDENT Nic Brissette (NTGS) Oakspring Energy 3540 S. Boulevard, Ste. 200 Edmond, OK 73013 (405) 463-6649 direct (940) 256-3305 cell nic.brissette@oakspringenergy.com

PRESIDENT-ELECT

Terence "Terry" O'Hare (DGS) Emerald Energy LLC. 4925 Greenville Ave., Suite 600 Dallas, Texas 79702 (214) 691-2399 tgo@emeraldenergyllc.com

VICE PRESIDENT

Paul H. Pausé (WTGS) Independent Geologist P.O. Box 10903 Midland, Texas 79702 (432) 689-9398 (432) 664-4938 cell geoman@texasonline.net

PAST PRESIDENT

Michael Raines (WTGS) Whiting Petroleum Corp. 400 W. Illinois Avenue, Suite 1210 Midland, Texas 79701 (432) 686-6772 (432) 934-7202 cell mike.raines@whiting.com

SECRETARY

Robert H. Springer (FWGS) Enduro Resource Partners 777 Main Street, Suite 800 Fort Worth, Texas 76102 (817) 529-8406 direct (817) 228-7730 cell rspringer@endurores.com

TREASURER

Kelli A. Snidow (WTGS) Concho Resources 600 W. Illinois Avenue Midland, Texas 79701 (432) 221-0431 (317) 710-5476 cell KSnidow@concho.com

AAPG ADVISORY COUNCIL

Joseph R. Davis, PhD (DGS) Kalnin Ventures 4130 Shorecrest Dr. Dallas, Texas 75209-1731 (214) 850-5416 Joedavis.dallas@gmail.com

Southwest Section

American Association of Petroleum Geologist

Board of Directors Meeting Minutes Tuesday, May 1st, 2018 10:00am Teleconference hosted by AAPG

Officers:

President
Vice President
President Elect
Past President
Secretary
Treasurer
AAPG Advisory Council

Nic Brissette (NTGS)(v)	Ρ
Paul Pausé (WTGS)(v)	late
Terry O'Hare (DGS)(v)	Ρ
Mike Raines (WTGS)(v)	Ρ
Robert H. Springer (FWGS)(v)	Ρ
Kelli A. Snidow (WTGS)(v)	Ρ
Joseph Davis (DGS)(v)	Ρ

Committee Chairs:

Awards Bylaws (Pres. Elect) Student Chapters (Pres. Elect) Committee Nominations (VP) **Continuing Education** Loans (Treasurer) Scholarship and Grants Imperial Barrel Award Nominating (Past Pres.) Website Social Media

Bruce Swartz Terry O'Hare Terry O'Hare Paul Pausé Jean Campbell P & Jessica Wold Kelli Snidow Eric Tangumonkem Amy Patterson **Mike Raines** Calvin Nix Tyler Goodall

Affiliated Society Representatives (v: voting):

Abilene Geological Society **Dallas Geological Society** El Paso Geological Society Fort Worth Geological Society North Texas Geological Society **Roswell Geological Society** San Angelo Geological Society West Texas Geological Society

Darrell Mauldin (v) Ρ Mark Bengtson (President) (v) Claire Bailey (v) Ρ Joey Dishron (President) (v) Ρ Jerry Hickman (v) Ρ Tom King (President) (v) Ρ Bruce Swartz (v) David Osterlund (President) (v)



THE SOUTHWEST SECTION

of the AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF PETROLEUM GEOLOGISTS



www.swsaapg.org *	P.O. Box 1595	*	Midland, Te	exas 79702	
Division Councilors:					
Professional Affairs	Mike Party (WT	GS)			
Environnemental Geoscience	Chris Leibli (WT	GS)			
Energy Minerals	Paul Thomas (A	GS) P)		
Young Professionals Group:					
AAPG HQ Liaison / General Chair	Joe Bauman				
Local Chair – Dallas	Chris Mace				
Local Chair – Midland	Lauren Storm				
AAPG Administration Representative:	Karin Alyea	Р			
	(v) Voting	Delegate	P Present	

MEETING

Robert H. Springer Performed Roll Call for Voting Members- Have 11 of 15 present (73.3%) – Have Quorum.

Meeting Called to Order by President Nic Brissette.

President:

Nic Brissette

Adoption of temporary logo: Briefly discussed the temporarily adopted SWS AAPG logo. The main contention is that the stars are not exactly located where the representative cities are located, specifically El Paso and San Angelo. Mike Raines asked if the original artwork file could be obtained from the artist to perform modifications. Terry O'Hare said he could look into it but believed it may not be possible to contact artist thru website. Robert Springer questioned is it necessary to have them located precisely for the logos intended purpose of basically identifying societies composing SWS. Terry O'Hare made motion to make the temporary logo now permanent. Robert Springer seconds the motion. Vote for motion passed with 10 in favor and Mike Raines opposed. The temporary SWS AAPG logo is now permanent.





THE SOUTHWEST SECTION

of the



AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF PETROLEUM GEOLOGISTS P.O. Box 1595 www.swsaapg.org

Midland, Texas 79702

Venue Rotation Location for 2020: Nic Brissette said he discussed with David Osterland vesterday and that he was adamant not utilizing WTGS for the 2020 convention due to heavy burden having hosted it already in 2006, 2009, 2013 & 2014 and 2017. But as Kelli had pointed out, the Permian Basin is hot now and would be missed opportunity if not taken advantage of. Nic said he had talked with Joey Dishron in Fort Worth and that they would be up for it but then would be hosted in the metroplex in consecutive years and it would be nice to spread it out. It was planned for 2020 to be hosted in a neutral location either Fredericksburg or Ruidoso. If in Ruidoso, then Roswell Geological Society would be the hosting society. Nic wanted to hear from Tom King what Roswell viewpoint is. Tom says he talked with primarily RGS board members and they would like to do it in 2020. Then have Fort Worth host in 2021. Darrell Mauldin made motion to have Roswell host in Ruidoso in 2020 and Fort Worth in 2021 and WTGS (Midland) in 2022. Jerry Hickman seconded the motion. All voted in favor. Motion passed.

Convention Order:

- 2019 Dallas (DGS)
- 2020 Ruidoso (RGS) 2021 – Fort Worth (FWGS)
- 2022 Midland (WTGS)
- 2023 Wichita Falls (NTGS) 100 year
- 2024 Abilene (AGS)
- 2025 Fort Worth (FWGS) 100 year
- 2026 Midland (WTGS) 100 year
- 2027 Dallas (DGS)
- Nominations for Officers: Nic requested update on status of soliciting nominations for officers for SWS AAPG from Mike Raines. Mike requested Tom King contact him for possible candidates from Roswell. Specifically for President Elect position. Mike will also be getting names tomorrow (5/2)from Pioneer Natural Resources for Fort Worth representation for Vice-President and Secretary position. Mike has presently one candidate for President Elect who will run if encouraged.
- Old Business/New Business: Terry O'Hare had an update on the 2019 Dallas Convention, he has scheduled a meeting for 6/6/2018 with Pioneer Natural Resources to be lead sponsor and requested \$20,000. The Convention Committee will be touring the Convention Center this Thursday. Robert Webster is doing a tremendous job getting this organized.
- Mike Raines asked Claire Bailey when El Paso would have final financial results from the Convention, she said they are waiting on final billing from Convention Center, but right now she believes it broke even and probably did better than that.
- Next Meeting: Scheduled Teleconference for Tuesday, June 5th, 2018 at 10:00am. This will be a regular meeting. Transitional meeting will be held in July by Terry O'Hare.

Meeting Adjourned at 10:30am