Skip to main content

2017 IBA SWS AAPG Regional Competition took place March 18th at Brookhaven College. Five teams competed for a chance to advance to AAPG International IBA competition. The teams included UTDallas, UTEP, UTPB, TCU and Texas Tech. All teams analyzed an offshore Nova Scotia dataset. Third place prize of $500 went to TCU. Second place prize of $1000 went to Texas Tech. First place prize of $1500 went to UTDallas, who will move on to the International IBA competition that will take place AAPG Annual Convention and Exhibition in Houston April 2-5, 2017.


#1 - The University of Texas at Dallas

Naomi NNichols, Ozo Ozoemmenzilem, Nicholas Reynolds, Andrew Maretta, and Jack Cassels


#2 - Texas Tech University

John Brotherton, Jordan Coe, Rui Liu, Miles Rand, and Travis Sparks


#3 - Texas Christian University

Nicole Wilson, John Alvarez, Ross Harrisonn, Sean Horne, and Blake Warwick with advisor Dr. Richard Dennne