Skip to main content

Imperial Barrel Competition


Southwest Section AAPG

Imperial Barrel Competition

AAPG's Imperial Barrel Award Program (IBA) is an annual oil and gas prospective basin evaluation competition for geoscience graduate students from universities around the world. University teams compete to win scholarship funds for their geoscience department and the international recognition that comes from competing or winning in the competition. The program is rigorous and contributes to AAPG's mission of promoting petroleum geoscience training and advancing the careers of geoscience students.

In this global competition, university teams analyze a dataset (geology, geophysics, land, production infrastructure, and other relevant materials) in the eight weeks prior to their local competition. Each team delivers their results in a 25 minute presentation to a panel of industry experts.  Students have the chance to use state of the art technology on a real dataset, receive feedback from an industry panel, impress potential employers in the audience, and win cash awards for their school.  The judges will select the winning team on the basis of the technical quality, clarity and originality of presentation.

2016 Imperial Barrel Competition

The 2016 Imperial Barrel Award competition of the Southwest Section of the AAPG will be held on March 19, in Dallas, Texas, on the campus of Brookhaven College. The event will take place beginning at 8:00 AM and will take much of the day. This year’s competition will include teams from the following schools in our area:

  • University of Texas, Permian Basin
  • University of Texas Dallas
  • University of Texas Arlington
  • University of Texas El Paso
  • Sul Ross University
  • Texas Christian University
  • Texas Tech University

We are in need of judges for this year's competition. Please download a letter from the IBA Coordinator and consider helping these students. Any questions can be addressed to David B. Codding (; 575-365-7117).

Download Letter from IBA Coordinator

2014 Imperial Barrel Competition

On March 22nd the following four schools, Texas Christian University (TCU), University of Texas Arlington (UTA), University of Texas Dallas (UTD), and University of Texas El Paso (UTEP), competed to represent the SWS AAPG.  The Texas Christian University will compete at the 2014 IBA final event held at the National AAPG Convention Houston in April.

The SWS has consistently supported this program by providing money to cover expenses associated with hosting the sectional competition and helping with expenses incurred by the teams traveling to the sectional competition.  This year $9,500 was allocated by the SWS to support the program.   Thank you to Chesapeake Energy for being our corporate sponsor.

Jeff Jones, IBA Committee chair, along with David Codding, Patrick Dietzel, Jack Dean, Rebecca Dodge, Matthew Oyedeji, Dean Snidow, and Michael Sweatt worked to make the SWS competition a big success.

Click to view photos of 2014 School winners.


SWS AAPG Associated Universities


New Mexico State University: No Current Chapter

  • Dr. Nancy J. McMillan    
  • Austin Ozolines                                          

Angelo State University               

  • Dr. Joseph Satterfield               
  • Sean Czarnecki            
  • Erin Noonan                     

 Baylor University             

  • Dr. Stacy C. Atchley         
  • Caitlin Leslie                
  • Hunter Harlow        

 Hardin Simmons University: No Current Chapter

  • Dr. Mark A. Ouimette                                                                  

Midwestern State University     

  • Dr. Rebecca Dodge      
  • Laura Gilbert     
  • Brian McCray          

Southern Methodist University

  • Dr. Matthew Hornbach
  • Maria Richards            
  • Brett Mattingly       
  • Alex Philipson          

Sul Ross State University             

  • Dr. Kevin Urbanczyk
  • Jesse Kelch                
  • George Vaughn 
  • Brock Hammock  

Texas Christian University           

  • Dr. Xiangyang (Cheyenne) Xie 
  • John Anthony                   
  • Rachel Gray                              

Texas Tech University   

  • Dr. Dustin Sweet
  • Jenna Hessert               
  • Tyler Goodell                  

The University of Texas at Arlington       

  • Dr. John Wickham         
  • Cullen Boyd          
  • Micheal Loveland            

The University of Texas at Dallas

  • Dr. Robert Stern
  • Alexandria Reynolds
  • Chinomso Madubuike           

The University of Texas at El Paso

  • Dr. Rip Langford
  • Dr. Kate Giles               
  • Matthew Hiebing     
  • Allison Mast             

The University of Texas of  the  Permian Basin

  • Dr. Emily Stoudt      
  • Adaku Linda Orajiaka            
  • Sarah Kabalaki     

Wayland Baptist University

  • Dr. Tim Walsh
  • Colton Palmer
  • Dillan Vigil